Motivation|Staff Motivation |Herzberg

Staff motivation by F.Herzberg

motivationI use in my work motivational theory of Herzberg. It still is one of the leading theories of motivation. Herzberg together with his assistants spent do more than 4000 interview with office workers, accountants, engineers and managers. Herzberg and his assistants asked to respondents two questions: "What most encourages you to the qualitative performance of your work?"And" What discourages any desire to work qualitatively?"On the basis of the data obtained Herzberg managed to highlight the main motivational factors.

Motivational factors by F. Herzberg:

 

  1. Achievement
  2. Recognition
  3. Content of work
  4. Responsibility
  5. Career
  6. Financial reasons
  7. Relationship with the leadership
  8. Cooperation

As you can see, Total quantity of motivational factors eight. But impact of them at employee motivation uneven and ambiguous. Herzberg singled 3 groups of factors, affecting the desire to work:

  • Positive (motivating for work)
  • Negative (demotivative)
  • Hygienic (make possible motivation / impossible)

Let's start by looking at the positive factors.

motivationAchievement – the main positive, motivating factor. Achievement - It is an opportunity to prove themselves in the work. This is when a person works hard and achieves. He gets pleasure from that, that he was able to do it.

Recognition - this is the second main motivating factor. Recognize and reward employee for, he achieved something. Therefore, recognition factor is a factor which is inextricably linked to the previous factor.

Content of work - this is a third motivating factor. It means, that work brings satisfaction to the employee. Usually an employee appreciates his work for it's creative nature, complexity, the ability to perform the task received from beginning to end.

Responsibility stands in fourth place. What means responsibility for the employee? It means, that the employee can work without constant supervision by bosses, and be accountable for his actions, to fulfill the tasks of the head, do the work of their leader and be proud, to be trusted.

Career is one of the most powerful of motivational factors. Can make from employee a realdedicated employee» of organization. It has the strongest effect, when unexpected for employee - he just worked hard and got the reward promotion. However, the motivation "career"has its pitfalls

This is Factors-motivators. If all of these 5 factors or some of them are present in the work of the individual and important to him, then he works with full feedback and satisfied with his work.

Now let's take a look at negative factors.

negative motivationNegative - this is factors-demotivators. The main demotivating factor is “general policy of the company and the management style“. What it is? This is inefficiency in the work of the company, resulting from nonrational activities, waste of manpower and resources, overlapping responsibilities or internal power sharing. Also, any unfair decision of company's management in relation to an employee, or Company policy, restraining interests of the employee will belong to this category.

Technical aspects of management -the second force demotivating factor. This factor describes the relationship with supervisor. If the employee controls talentless and inept Manager, unable to organize the work of subordinates and not able to inspire his oun people, this simply discouraging worker. Also bad personal relations with such head affect the occurrence of this factor. In Herzberg's theory This factor appears as "Relationship with the leadership».

Factor "Recognition"can be either positive or negative factor. If a person has done great work and achieved results, then a head should certainly note this. If this does not happen, then it becomes powerful demotivator.

Content of work can also be negative factor at condition, that the work is monotonous and boring. Also, this factor is included, if a person has the feeling, that he can much more, than the work, he does.

Motivational factor «Career"under certain conditions, can become demotivating. If there is an opportunity to get a promotion and employee identifies himself as the best candidate, in case of failure the employee are demotivated.

And the last group of factorshygiene factors.

In this group only 2 factors "Financial motivation"and"Cooperation», but it is difficult to overstate the importance of them. When I say the word "Motivation» then all, who doesn't know "Herzberg motivation theory», in the head occurs one- money. However, Herzberg proved, it is not so. Money do not relate to factors-motivators.

Factor "Financial reasons"submitted in single factorhygienic. What does it mean? This means that "money" - this is catalyst, in the presence of which an employee can be motivated. Only salary increase not perceived the worker as motivator because it is usually follows by either career growth or by the performing some task. In this case salary increase it is just a background, which reinforces the motivational factors «Achievement» – «Recognition and Reward"or"Career». If the distribution of salaries in the enterprise is not true-it a powerful demotivator.

And the last factor «Cooperation"Can also be referred to hygiene factors. This is the environmental factor, He is very weakly motivates man to achievements. It is important that this environment does not disturb humans work.

Technique application of tools Herzberg's theory of motivation, discussed in detail in the 2 of my trainings SV-cycle and A successful entrepreneur.

Wishing to Test Herzberg, based on his book "Motivation to work", you can download it here. The download is only available to registered users on the site. You can register here. Registration is 2 minutes.

 

test Herzberg
The download is only available to registered users on the site. Registration link above. Registration is 2 minutes.
test-gercberga

Leave a Reply

Read previous post:
Development of communications|business communications|retail

There are statistics: 60% transactions are made only 5 Only visit 4% done with the first visit. The reason for this state of Affairs...

Close

Мотивация|Мотивация персонала|Герцберг

Мотивация персонала по Ф.Герцбергу

мотивацияЯ в своей работе пользуюсь мотивационной теорией Герцберга. Это до сих пор одна из ведущих теорий мотивации. Герцберг вместе с помощниками провел более 4000 интервью с офисными работниками, бухгалтерами, инженерами и менеджерами. Герцберг и его помощники задавали респондентам два вопроса: «Что больше всего стимулирует вас к качественному выполнению вашей работы?» и «Что отбивает какое-либо желание качественно трудиться?» На основе полученных данных Герцберг сумел выделить основные мотивационные факторы.

Мотивационные факторы по Ф. Герцбергу:

 

  1. Достижение
  2. Признание
  3. Содержание работы
  4. Ответственность
  5. Карьера
  6. Финансовые мотивы
  7. Отношения с руководством
  8. Сотрудничество

Как вы видите, всего мотивационных факторов восемь. Но влияние их на мотивацию сотрудника неодинаково и неоднозначно. Герцберг выделял 3 группы факторов, влияющих на желание работать:

  • Позитивные (мотивирующие к работе)
  • Негативные (демотивирующие)
  • Гигиенические (делают мотивацию возможной/невозможной)

Для начала рассмотрим позитивные факторы.

мотивацияДостижение — главный позитивный, мотивирующий фактор. Достижение – это возможность проявить себя в работе. Это когда человек упорно трудится и достигает. При этом он получает удовольствие от того, что он смог это сделать.

Признание – это второй главный мотивирующий фактор. Признают работника и вознаграждают за то, что он чего-то достиг. Поэтому фактор признания это фактор который неразрывно связан с предыдущим фактором.

Содержание работы – это третий мотивирующий фактор. Это значит, что работа приносит удовлетворение работнику. Обычно работник ценит свою работу за ее творческий характер, сложность, возможность выполнить полученную задачу от начала и до конца.

Ответственность стоит на четвертом месте. Что значит ответственность для работника? Это значит, что работник может работать без постоянного наблюдения со стороны начальства, отвечать за свои действия, выполнять поручения руководителя, выполнять работу своего руководителя и гордиться тем, что ее ему доверили.

Карьерный рост – один из самых сильных мотивационных факторов. Может сделать из работника буквально «преданного сотрудника» организации. Имеет самое сильное действие, когда неожиданно для работника – он просто усердно трудился и получил в награду повышение по службе. Однако мотивация «карьерный рост» имеет свои подводные камни

Это факторы-мотиваторы. Если все эти 5 факторов или некоторые из них присутствуют в работе индивида и важны для него, то он работает с полной отдачей и удовлетворен своей работой.

Теперь рассмотрим негативные факторы.

негативная мотивацияНегативные – это факторы-демотиваторы. Главный демотивирующий фактор это «Общая политика компании и стиль управления«. Что это такое? Это неэффективность в работе компании, возникающая в результате нерациональности деятельности, пустой траты сил и средств, дублирования обязанностей или внутреннего дележа власти. Также любое несправедливое решение руководства компании по отношению к сотруднику или политика компании, ущемляющая интересы сотрудника будет отнесена работником к этой категории.

Технические аспекты руководства – это второй по силе демотивирующий фактор. Этот фактор описывает взаимоотношения с непосредственным руководителем. Если работником управляет бездарный и неумелый руководитель, неспособный организовать работу подчиненных и не умеющий воодушевить своих людей, то у работника просто опускаются руки. Также плохие личные отношения с таким руководителем влияют на возникновения данного фактора. В теории Герцберга этот фактор фигурирует как «Отношения с руководством».

Фактор «Признание» может быть как позитивным так и негативным фактором. Если человек проделал большую работу и достиг результата, то руководитель должен непременно это отметить. Если же этого не происходит, то это становиться мощным демотиватором.

Содержание работы может быть также негативным фактором при условии, что работа однообразна и скучна. Также этот фактор включается, если у человека возникает ощущение, что он может гораздо больше, чем та работа, которую он делает.

Мотивационный фактор «Карьерный рост» при определенных условиях может стать демотивирующим. Если есть возможность получить повышение и работник идентифицирует себя как лучшего кандидата, то в случае неудачи работник демотивирован.

И последняя группа факторовгигиенические факторы.

В этой группе всего 2 фактора «Финансовая мотивация» и «Сотрудничество», но важность их трудно переоценить. Когда я произношу слово «Мотивация» то у всех, кто не знаком с «Мотивационной теорией Герцберга», в голове возникает одно – деньги. Однако Герцберг доказал, что это не так. Деньги не относятся к факторам-мотиваторам.

Фактор «Финансовые мотивы» вынесен в отдельный факторгигиенический. Что это означает? Это означает что «деньги» – это катализатор, в присутствии которого сотрудника возможно мотивировать. Само повышение зарплаты не воспринимается работником как мотиватор ибо оно обычно следует либо за карьерным ростом либо за выполнением какой-то задачи. В таком случае повышение зарплаты является просто фоном, который усиливает мотивационные факторы «Достижение» — «Признание и Вознаграждение» или «Карьерный рост». Если же распределение зарплаты на предприятии не справедливо – то это мощный демотиватор.

И последний фактор «Сотрудничество» можно также отнести к гигиеническим факторам. Это фактор среды, он очень слабо мотивирует человека к достижениям. Важно чтобы эта среда не мешала человеку работать.

Техника применения инструментов мотивационной теории Герцберга, подробно рассмотрены в 2-х моих тренингах СВ-цикл и Успешный предприниматель.

Желающие получить Тест Герцберга, основанный на его книге «Мотивация к работе», могут скачать его тут. Скачивание доступно только для зарегистрированных на сайте пользователей. Зарегистрироваться можно тут. Регистрация занимает 2 минуты.

 

тест Герцберга
Скачивание доступно только для зарегистрированных на сайте пользователей. Ссылка на регистрацию выше. Регистрация занимает 2 минуты.
test-gercberga

Добавить комментарий

Читайте ранее:
Развитие коммуникаций|деловые коммуникации|розница

Есть статистика: 60% сделок совершается лишь с 5 визита и только 4% совершается с первого визита. Причиной такого положения вещей...

Закрыть